Clever Chapter Endings

I’m procrastinating again and not writing. Rather than simply finding cliffhanger endings, I’ve looked at the last paragraphs of chapters in my stash (on Kindle) where I wanted to read on (I’m physically limited so I can only access e-books).

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

End of Chapter 3

“The whole shack shivered and Harry sat bolt upright, staring at the door. Someone was outside, knocking to come in.”

A_Song_of_Ice_and_Fire_book_collection_box_set_cover

End of Prologue.

“The broken sword fell from nerveless fingers. Will closed his eyes to pray. Long, elegant hands brushed his cheek, then tightened around his throat. They were gloved in the finest moleskin and sticky with blood, yet the touch was icy cold.”

thGPW43HIX

End of II

” ‘I’ve heard that voice before’ said Holmes, staring down the dimly lit street. ‘Now, I wonder who the deuce that could have been.’ ”

imagesAX35ZFKE

The first chapter titled ‘The End’

“The water came up to meet him. It hit him in the side like a charging bull, punched the air out of his lungs, knocked the sense out of his head, sucked him in and down into the cold darkness…”

hunger-games

End Chapter 4

“All of the pieces are still fitting together, but I sense he has a plan forming. He hasn’t accepted his death. He is already fighting. Which also means that kind Peeta Mellark, the boy who gave me the bread, is fighting hard to kill me.”

Just a few this time, I had the help of a carer yesterday with physical books. Maybe I can ask if you can suggest a favourite and help build my list?

Leave a Reply

