West wing

I’m bingeing on The West Wing for the purpose of paying particular attention to the dialogue they used (which is brilliant, even third time around) and, dammit, the story draws me in every time and I forget why I’m watching! Shoot, I have a purpose!

Emily Procter was commented (in the show) as speaking in iambic pentameter. Now, I’ve heard of iambic pentameter but I’ve never actually looked into it. So this comment on The West Wing lead me down a magical hole and into exploring iambic pentameter. I learned it is a particular rhythm to speech and has 8 beats. Da Dum Da Dum Da Dum Da Dum. There is a wave of lows followed by highs. The most famous person who wrote iambic pentameter was Shakespeare, although he’s not alone by far

“What light through yonder window breaks?” Romeo and Juliet, Act 2, Scene 2

A beat of the drum falls on each syllable. Truly fascinating. Love it. Watching West Wing for dialogue has taught me something about the rhythm of speech.

They also had an episode based on the Don Henley song New York Minute. What a song. Check it out on YouTube here. Beautiful chilling lyrics, don’t I know it!

Leave a Reply

