Adverbs are evil. They are not your friend – ever.

Last night as I edited using prowritingaid and I had a lightening bolt. I have always followed advice and used abverbs sparingly as I know a verb conveys greater action. As I deleted those adverbs last night, I saw … adverbs are telling! Geez, I’m slow. I blame my brain injury. ‘Show not tell’ is a writer’s mantra. Removing them I feared my voice would be affected but if anything my voice strengthened. I don’t want to tell so adverbs are out. Adverbs are evil.

Leave a Reply

